Output Recordings



Of course it's impossible to say what the current musical landscape would have looked like if Output recordings hadn't begun life in 1996, back then when information moved around a bit slower, when the musical underground seemed like it was more than just a feeder pool for mobile phone ads.

Back then, when the dance press was all about Superclubs and Djs in jacuzzis, and eclecticism meant throwing an acid track in with the latest Bentley Rhythm Ace hottie, Output began life with a burst of smoky instrumental hip hop, some spacey post rock and edgy electronica - sometimes all at once as in the case of the iconic Four Tet's / (Kieran Hebden's) 1998's epic debut" Thirty six twenty five" - and by release number five had released it's first 7 inch by the band FRIDGE .As we sit here in 2007 with the 7 inch as the fastest growing format of the last year, its easy to forget now how different it felt in 1996, a thing of the musical past that was about to become part of the future again thanks to the likes of Trevor Jackson and Output.

And it wasn't just past formats that Output was playing with whilst casually inventing the future, Gramme's 1997 debut 7 inch " Mine" (a post punk funk disco jam) helped set in motion a musical force that has yet to peak, let alone end . From the jointly DFA / Output released Rapture and LCD Soundsystem , through to Franz Ferdinand, Tom Vek, !!! , CSS, Gossip, Klaxons, Foals and a thousand other post punk / new rave hopefuls, Output's role as forbearers of the angular, art school funk aesthetic that still dominates today is unquestioned.

Of course history is littered with the half remembered names of the innovators , the ones that took the chances , and then moved on, as oblivious to the commercial value of a movement whilst they walk away from it, as they were when they helped start it . Trevor Jackson's parting statement as Output closed was full of negativity and bitterness (the total opposite of the enthusiasm and positivity that forced him to create the label in the first place), his love of the music drained from him as the industry bullshit closed in; but that was a year ago, the dust is settling, now we're just left with the music.

The track listing for this 3 disc retrospective includes a genre defying cross selection of underground innovative music from the last ten years, thirty tracks out of the 100 releases and 300+ track catalogue, from the glistening folktronica of Four Tet, the era defining Nu Wave disco of Jackson's own Playgroup outfit, the timeless beauty of Circlesquares '7 Minutes', Colder's classic 'To the Music', Dk7's dancefloor bombs, Mu's genius electro trash 'Paris Hilton'� it goes on.

Alongside the double CD is a DVD with 37(!) video shorts, (mostly never seen before, some made specially for this release) created by directors as diverse as the legendary ABEL FERRARA photographers JASON EVANS and DONALD CHRISTIE as well as mr JACKSON himself, a fitting visual testament to a label who's true legacy, as Mao said in the 1950's of the French of Revolution 150 years earlier, is yet to be seen.

Released: 12 November 2007

2CD / DVD [OPR100]
1: Fridge - Lojen
2: Four Tet - Glasshead
3: 7 Hurtz - Beatbox
4: Gramme - Crooks And Criminals
5: Sonovac - Human Fly
6: Icarus - Cyan
7: Skull - Flump
8: The Boy Lucas - There Are Great Monsters Going Past
9: Tall Blonde - Don't Stop
10: Colder - Crazy Love
11: Dempsey - ODB On The Run
12: Dead Combo - You Don’t Look So Good
13: Playgroup - Make It Happen
14: Blackstrobe - Innerstrings
15: DK7 - The Difference
16: Manhead - Birth, Death, Work, School
17: Lopazz - I Need Ya
18: Mu - Paris Hilton
19: San Serac - Tyrant
20: DK7 - Where’s The Fun
21: Colder - To The Music
22: Kreeps - All I Wanna Do Is Break Some Hearts
23: George Demure - Main Attraction
24: Luke Abbott - B,B,B,B,B,B,B,B,B,B
25: Mauin - Pinkblack
26: 7 Hurtz - 3 Sisters
27: Kate Wax - Beetles & Spider
28: Circlesquare - 7 Minutes
29: Mongrel Wireless - You And I
30: How To Cure Dyslexia - Afternoon
Buy 2CD / DVD £ 9.99